© 2009 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

12/02/09 2:30 PM EST

Gonzalez, Bell claim Padres team awards

Slugger claims MVP; closer wins multiple categories

SAN DIEGO -- The offseason award hardware continues to pile up for San Diego first baseman Adrian Gonzalez, who on Wednesday was named the Most Valuable Player for the team during the Padres' annual awards celebration.

The ceremony, presented by San Diego County Credit Union, was held at the San Diego Hall of Champions.

The ceremony was emceed by Channel 4 San Diego's Mark Neely with appearances by team CEO and vice chairman Jeff Moorad, new general manager Jed Hoyer as well as manager Bud Black.

Proceeds from the event went to benefit the Padres Foundation and the Champion Sports Academy.

Last month, Gonzalez won his second successive Gold Glove. Other award winners on Wednesday included closer Heath Bell (Clyde McCullough Pitcher of the Year), second baseman David Eckstein (Madres Favorite New Padre), Chairman's Award (Black) and the Fireman's Award (Bell).

In his first season as a Major League closer, Bell made his first National League All-Star team. He was 6-4 with a 2.71 ERA and led the league in saves (42).

Gonzalez made his second All-Star team in as many years and hit a career-high 40 home runs. He drove in 99 runs and hit .277.

The Padres also handed out their Minor League awards on Wednesday. The Player of the Year Award was given to third baseman James Darnell, who hit a combined .311 in 2009 between Class A Lake Elsinore and Double-A San Antonio. Darnell had 20 home runs and 81 RBIs.

Simon Castro was named the Pitcher of the Year after going 10-6 with a 3.33 ERA in 28 games with Class A Fort Wayne.

Other winners included manager Doug Dascenzo of Fort Wayne (Jack Krol Award) for leading the TinCaps to the Midwest League title. Also, Bob Filotei was named Scout of the Year.

Corey Brock is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.