© 2011 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

11/07/11 1:40 PM EST

Maybin, Bell win MLB.com top awards

Infielder Guzman honored with Breakout Player of the Year Award

SAN DIEGO -- On offense, on defense and on the bases, Padres center fielder Cameron Maybin left his mark in 2011, his first season with San Diego.

"Good players make good coaches, and Cam has made us all look pretty good this year," Padres first-base coach Dave Roberts said. "He's a special player."

Maybin, who has been named MLB.com's Padres Player of the Year, showed that he could handle the mammoth center field of PETCO Park defensively, making several highlight-reel catches. His UZR (ultimate zone rating) this past season was 9.5.

In fact, Maybin is up against nine others in MLB.com's annual Greatness in Baseball Yearly (GIBBY) Awards for Defensive Player of the Year.

Offensively, the 24-year-old cut down on his strikeout rate from 2010 (28.6 percent to 22.0 percent), showed pop (51 extra-base hits) and flourished on the bases, stealing a career-high 40 bases.

And here's the kicker: Maybin and his manager, Bud Black, think he's only starting to scratch the surface of his potential.

"I think there is more in there," Black said this season. "He has the talent to be better. As he grows, he'll hit more homers and drive in more runs."

Three-time All-Star reliever Heath Bell made an impact in a different way, as a lockdown closer. Bell saved 43 games in 48 opportunities, the third time in as many seasons that he has saved 40 or more games.

For this, Bell, who has more saves than any pitcher in the Major Leagues since the start of 2009, has been selected as MLB.com's Padres Pitcher of the Year.

The Padres Breakout Player of the Year, selected by MLB.com, wasn't on the Opening Day roster. No, infielder Jesus Guzman didn't join the Padres until May 21, when he was promoted from Triple-A Tucson.

All Guzman did was hit, hit and hit some more.

Guzman, 27, who appeared in 12 games with the Giants in 2009, hit .310 in June, .345 in July and finished with a .312 batting average in 247 at-bats with five home runs and 44 RBIs. He hit .346 at spacious PETCO Park, too.

Guzman mostly played first base, but did play some left field. Though there's a question of where he fits best on the field defensively, there was no questioning his bat in 2011.

Elsewhere, Minor League outfielder Rymer Liriano was named Topps Player of the Year for the Midwest League in 2011. In September, Liriano was named the MVP and top prospect by Midwest League managers.

The Double-A San Antonio Missions were selected as the Minor League Team of the Year and Double-A Team of the Year by MiLB.com. The Missions went 94-46 and went on to win the Texas League title.

National Awards
NL MVP Year NL Cy Young Year NL Rookie of the Year Year
Ken Caminiti1996Randy Jones1976Benito Santiago1987
    Gaylord Perry1978
    Mark Davis1989
    Jake Peavy2007
NL Manager of the Year Year Silver Slugger Year Rawlings Gold Glove Year
Bruce Bochy1996Ted Kennedy1983Dave Winfield1979-80
  Garry Templeton1984Ozzie Smith1980-81
  Tony Gwynn1984, 1986-87, 1989, 1994-95, 1997 Tony Gwynn1986-87, 1989-91
  Benito Santiago1987-88, 1990-91Benito Santiago1988-90
  Fred McGriff1992Steve Finley1995-96
  Gary Sheffield1992Ken Caminiti1995-97
  Greg Vaughn1998Mike Cameron2006
  Mark Loretta2004Greg Maddux2007
    Adrian Gonzalez2008
Local Awards
Padres MVPYear Clyde McCullough
*Pitcher of the Year
Year Chairman's Award Year
Nate Colbert1969Luis DeLeon1982Tony Gwynn1995
Cito Gaston1970Mark Thurmond1983Brian Johnson1996
Clay Kirby1971Carmelo Martinez1984Steve Finley1997
Nate Colbert1972Lance McCullers1985Greg Vaughn1998
Fred Kendall1973John Kruk1986Trevor Hoffman1999
Bobby Tolan1974Benito Santiago1987Woody Williams2000, 2005
Randy Jones1975-76Roberto Alomar1988Ryan Klesko2001
George Hendrick1977Greg Harris1989Mark Kotsay2002
Dave Winfield1978-79Ed Whitson1990Bruce Bochy2003
Gene Richards1980Andy Benes1991, 1993Brian Giles2004
Juan Bonilla1981Bruce Hurst1992Jake Peavy2006
Terry Kennedy1982Trevor Hoffman1994, 1996-1999, 2001-02, 2006Adrian Gonzalez2007
Alan Wiggins1983Andy Ashby1995Chris Young2008
Tony Gwynn1984, 1986-88, 1994-95, 1997Kevin Brown1998  
Garry Templeton1985Woody Williams2000  
Mark Davis1989Rod Beck2003  
Bip Roberts1990Jake Peavy2004-05, 2007-09  
Fred McGriff1991  Year  
Gary Sheffield1992*- Until 1990, the Clyde McCullough award honored the Padres' top rookie  
Phil Plantier1993    
Ken Caminiti1996    
Greg Vaughn1998    
Phil Nevin1999-2001    
Ryan Klesko2002    
Mark Loretta2003-04    
Brian Giles2005    
Adrian Gonzalez2006, 2008    
Khalil Greene2007    
Fireman's AwardYear Favorite New Padre Year 
Trevor Hoffman2006, 2008Steve Finley1995  
Heath Bell2007John Flaherty1996  
  Mark Sweeney1997  
  Kevin Brown1998  
  Eric Owens1999  
  Ryan Klesko2000  
  Bubba Trammell2001  
  Gene Kingsale2002  
  Mark Loretta2003  
  Khalil Greene2004  
  Joe Randa2005  
  Adrian Gonzalez2006  
  Kevin Kouzmanoff2007  
  Jody Gerut2008  

Corey Brock is a reporter for MLB.com. Keep track of @FollowThePadres on Twitter. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.