© 2014 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

7/24/2014 10:22 P.M. ET

Padres lose challenge on hit by pitch

CHICAGO - Padres manager Bud Black challenged whether Anthony Rizzo was hit by a pitch in the fifth inning.

The Padres led 3-1 against the Cubs, who had a runner at second with two outs. Tyson Ross struck out Rizzo, with the ball skipping to the backstop for a wild pitch. The runner, Arismendy Alcantara, advanced to third.

Black felt Rizzo was hit by a pitch, which would've kept Alcantara at second. After a 3 minute, 7 second review, umpires ruled that the call stands.

Starlin Castro then grounded out to shortstop Alexi Amarista to end the inning.

Daniel Kramer is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.